FROM THE STATS MAN – Ross Flexman 

Over the years the club has done well in both the Te Puke sub union and the merged (1996) Western Bay sub union competitions picking up several championships at Premier, Senior B and Colts levels. 

PREMIERS: Between 1999 and 2021 the Club has qualified for the Baywide semi finals 20 times, winning championships in 2011 against Whakarewarewa 21-18, 2012 Rotoiti 12-3 and 2018 Te Puna 27-13. 

COLTS: A Baywide colts competition was contested between 2004 and 2013 with the young Pirates making the semi finals on all 8 occasions and going on to win in 2010 and 2011 and were runners up on 3 other occasions. 

DEVELOPMENT: Baywide development competition was introduced in 2014 and contested until 2021. Championships were taken out by Te Puke in 2015, 2017, 2018 and 2021 (more than any other club) also making the top 4 on three other occasions. 

Based on estimates up to 2000, and actual records since, the following players have joined the 100+ club: 

Rameka Poihipi 310, Paul Faiweather 152 

Matt Wallis 210 still playing, David Whitecliffe-Davies 116 

Jarrard McKeown 203, Kim Hinaki 115 

Rodney Gibbs 199, Bobby Baggott 109 

Jermey Cotter 168, Ryan Lambert 104 

Luke Perrott 161, PJ Gidlow 103 

Simon Chisholm 158, Declan Barnett 102 

Mike McKenzie 155 

It is to be noted that Rameka played one season for the Mount (rep coach directive) and Matty 5 seasons for Kamo while playing for Northland. 

We congratulate the following players who have achieved New Zealand honours while playing for the club: 

  • Nathan Harris All Blacks NZ Māori’s NZ under 20 
  • Aidan Ross All Blacks NZ Barbarians NZ under 20 
  • Anthony Tahana NZ Māori’s 
  • Paul Fairweather NZ under 17 (Captain) NZ Juniors 
  • Solomon King NZ 7s NZ under 21 
  • Charles Baxter NZ 7s 
  • Hayden Reid NZ 7s 
  • Jack Wilson NZ7s 
  • Andy Miller NZ Juniors 
  • Ben Castle NZ under 21 
  • Matt Wallis NZ under 21 
  • Cole Forbes NZ under 20 
  • Lalomilo Lalomilo NZ under20 

Also Andy Miller for Japan in the 2003 world cup and Kane Le’aupepe for Samoa in the 2019 world cup. 

Andy was the first World cup player to score all possible ways in one game (try, conversion, penalty and a 52m drop goal.) v Fiji 2003 

Highest score recorded in recent years by the Premiers was 112 – 10 against Te Teko at Te Teko on 16th May 2002 with 18 try’s being scored. 

Most try’s by an individual in a game: 

  • 7 by Dave Basham in 1964, I have been told from a reliable source 
  • 5 plus 4 conversions by Charles Baxter v Te Teko 16/5/02 
  • 5 by Masiu Akauola playing hooker v Judea 12/6/2022 – game won 50 – 10 

Of recent times, the 2018 championship team produced some outstanding performances in winning 16 of their 20 games that season scoring 864 points. Jason Robertson 227 points (including 5 try’s) from 16 games. Declan Barnett scoring 18 try’s closely followed by Cole Forbes on 17. 

The 1999 team scored 811 points. 

100+ Club: To see the list of players in our 100+ games club see our club history page, A 100 Year History: 100+ Club – Page 211